For non-emergency issues that require the Berthoud Larimer County Sheriff call 970-416-1985. For emergencies call 911.

Watch here for important notifications. You can also sign up for email alerts.


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Council – Manager form of government is the most common form of government in municipalities in the United States. According to surveys by the International City / County Management Association (ICMA), this form of government has grown from 48% usage in 1996 to 55% usage in 2006.

Characteristics include:

• City Council or Board oversees the general administration, makes policy, sets budget
• City Council or Board appoints a professional city manager to carry out day-to-day administrative operations
• The Mayor can be elected or chosen from among elected Council Members or Board Trustees

In Berthoud, the Mayor is an elected position with a term of four years. There are six Trustees that make up the Board of Trustees with the Mayor acting as the chair person in public meetings. A Mayor Pro-Tem is selected from among the Trustees to act on the Mayor’s behalf in his or her absence.